Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest

The Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest is located in Wisconsin's Northwoods, covering over a million and a half acres. The Chequamegon side of the forest covers about 858,400 acres in Ashland, Bayfield, Sawyer, Price, Taylor, and Vilas counties while the Nicolet side covers nearly 661,400 acres in Florence, Forest, Langlade, Oconto, Oneida, and Vilas counties.

Since 1993, these two national forests have been managed as one, with headquarters offices in both Park Falls and Rhinelander. Each national forest has retained its individual identity. As one example, visitors driving across the state, from east to west on US Highway 70, will first see portal signs near Florence welcoming them to the Nicolet National Forest, then signs welcoming them to the Chequamegon National Forest, west of Minocqua.

National forests are divided into administrative units called ranger districts. The Chequamegon side of the forest comprises three districts. As with the forests themselves, several ranger districts were combined. The Glidden and Hayward ranger districts combined into the Great Divide Ranger District with district headquarters offices located at Glidden and at Hayward. The Medford and Park Falls ranger districts have also been combined into a single district, with headquarters offices at Park Falls and Medford

The Nicolet side of the forest comprises two ranger districts. The Eagle River and Florence ranger districts have been combined into a single unit - the Eagle River-Florence Ranger District, with ranger stations located in each of those towns. The Lakewood and Laona ranger districts have also been combined into a single unit, called the Lakewood-Laona Ranger District. District headquarters offices are located in both Lakewood and Laona at the old ranger office sites.